The Flame Within by Liz Harris/ Book Review

Welcome back to Lamon Reviews. This week I finished reading a historical romance nove titled The Flame Within, written by Liz Harris. I was able to read an advanced copy thanks to Rachels Random Resources, the host of this blog tour.

The Flame Within by Liz Harris

Title: The Flame Within

#of pages: 552

Author: Liz Harris

Genre: Historical Romance

My Review

Alice Foster has known since a young age the type of life she wants. Reading magazines with her best-friend, May, she has a unique understanding that the life she longs for will not be achieved in the small town of Waterfoot, in Lancashire.

Working hard to further her knowledge, she lands a nursing job at a hospital for wounded soldiers. Here is where she falls in love and marries the handsome Thomas Lindford. Can she blend well with his family? What will happen when the inexcapable realities of his injuries send him into a long anger-fueled and caustic mood? Will their love survive?

The Flame Within is book 2 in this series, but all of them have been written as stand-alone novels, so you don’t need to read them in order to be completely engrossed. I love series like this and find myself so attactched and interested in one or more characters I end up reading an entire series.

I was hooked from the prologue. I did think the first few chapters were slow when I first started, but after finishing it, I’m not sure it would have been the same it the pacing was quicker. I like it as it is.

The characters in the novel are well-written. Both Alice and Thomas character growth throughout the novel is interesting. I enjoy how complete and rounded the characters feel when reading.

My favorite character in this novel is Alice. I think I like her so much because of how hard she worked and the fact that her character isn’t flighty. She makes decisions and genuinely tries sticks to them.

On the other hand, my least favorite character is Joseph. His treatment of Robert’s wife, Lily, is mean and at times just horrible. This makes me dislike him almost completely. The fact that he sees Alice differently than Lily makes me dislike him more.

One of the many things I really enjoyed in this novel is the authors magical ability to set a mood with imagery. It is wonderful and immersive for readers like myself. This particularly descriptive passage stood out to me.

…Translucent sheets of rain fell heavily to the ground, and slammed with force on to glistening roofs, racing down solid brick walls and slithering thence across drenched pavements into the gutters, to be absorbed in the rivers of dark grey water speeding down the hill.

The Flame Within

In the end, I liked The Flame Within by Liz Harris. I rate it 4 out of 5 stars. I recommend this novel to readers that enjoy historical romances. There are no foul language or erotic scenes for sensitive readers.

Readers may also want to check out the entire series. I think once you read one you will be hooked and want to read the others.

Rating

4 out of 5 stars

I hope you liked my review. Here is more information about the wonderful author of The Flame Within, Liz Harris.

Flip right

Author Bio:

Liz’s first six novels were published by Choc Lit.The Road Back was the US Coffee Time and Romance Book of the Year, A Bargain Struck was RoNA-shortlisted for Best Historical Novel, and they and TheLost Girl,Evie Undercover,The Art of Deception and A Western Heart were shortlisted by the Festival of Romantic Fiction in their respective categories.

Liz’s latest historical novel,The Dark Horizon, Book1 of The Linford Series, which is set between the wars, was released in May 2020.

She has also hadshort stories published in several anthologies and in magazines.Liz is an active member of the Romantic Novelists’ Association, and also of the Historical NovelSociety.

She regularly gives talks and workshops at conferences, and is an approved speaker fororganisations such as the WI and U3A. Her hobbies are theatre, reading, travel, cryptic crosswords.

Purchase Links

UK–https://www.amazon.co.uk/Flame-Within-gripping-between-Linford-ebook/dp/B08GQB97NF

US-https://www.amazon.com/Flame-Within-gripping-between-Linford-ebook/dp/B08GQB97NF

You can visit her website at

http://www.lizharrisauthor.com

Social Media Links:

Website:www.lizharrisauthor.com

Twitter:@lizharrisauthor

Facebook Author Page:https://www.facebook.com/lizharrisauthor

Flip left

The Flame Within From award-winning author of The Dark Horizon, Liz Harris, comes the second in a sweeping saga set between the wars, which tells the story of the Linfords, a family simmering with secrets, liesand betrayal.

London, 1923 Alice Linfordstands on the pavement and stares up at the large Victorian house set back from theroad—the house that is to be her new home. But it isn’t her house. It belongs to someone else—to a Mrs Violet Osborne. A woman who was no more than a name at the end of an advertisement for a companion that had caught her eye three weeks earlier. More precisely, it wasn’t Mrs Osborne’s name that had caught her eye—it was seeing that Mrs Osborne lived in Belsize Park, a short distance only from Kentish Town. Kentish Town, the place where Alice had lived when she’d been Mrs Thomas Linford.

Thomas Linford—the man she still loves, but through her own stupidity, has lost. The man for whomshe’s left the small Lancashire town in which she was born to come down to London again. The man she’s determined to fight for.

The Flame Within is perfect for readers of The Thorn Birds and the Cazalet Chronicles, and the novels of Fiona Valpy and Santa Montefiore.

Flip right

I hope you enjoyed my review and are interested in reading this historical romance. If you are, you can use any of the links above to purchase your copy. Let me know in the comments if this sounds like a book your interested in.

Go forth, dear readers, support your favorite indie authors and encourage reading and literacy.

K. LaMon
Lamon Reviews

3 Comments

  1. Thank you so much for your thoughtful review of my novel, Keisha. I was most interested in your comments. Such feedback is always very welcome. If you’d like to read the story of Robert and Lily, you will find it in The Dark Horizon. I’m not sure that you’ll like Joseph any better, though, at the end of it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I read the teaser for it, and just knew I would’nt like him any better. I enjoyed The Flame Within so I want to check out the first one. I enjoy your writing style! Thank you foe the opportunity to read and review it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s